yearzerowriters

Gupter Issue 6 [Preview]

In Gupter Puncher/Oli Johns on May 14, 2010 at 2:19 pm

             Gupter Puncher Issue 6                     

I said I wouldn’t do another issue for a while, but I was bored in April so I wrote another. This one is the beat issue.

You’ll know what I mean when you see it.

And if you don’t see it then I’ll tell you now.

It means there are pictures of lots of beat writers, like Kerouac, Cassady, Burroughs [He holds a gun in most of his pics, sometimes pointing it at a dog] and Ginsberg.

If you don’t know any of these guys, or you only know Kerouac, then don’t panic. I have also included Casey Affleck.

If you don’t like Affleck then you’re fucked.

Unless you like Tom Cruise or cabinets, as I’ve put in the story ‘The many cabinets of Tom Cruise.’ Well, most of it. See, Mr. Cruise somehow found out about the story and has forced me to redact a lot of the text. But there’s still some quality there.

What else?

I was gonna leave out Captain Wong and Tomomi, but then I thought, people seem to like Tomomi and people seem to hate Captain, so maybe I should keep them in…and I did. Tomomi is at the Venice film festival, and Captain is just whining like a mule.

And running through the whole mag are the continuing adventures of Oli and Jay. They go to the Venice film fest, they chase Dave Eggers in San Fran, and a whole lot of other things. There’re about thirty pages on them, so I thought it was a good idea to break it all up with Casey Affleck and other inserts. Hope it works out alright.

Is that it? Hmm…

This issue has a limited run only as I don’t have much cash.

It will be in HK and New York, and nowhere else.

If you want to know where to pick it up just look at the where to find list on this site.

Or if you live somewhere else and want a copy then e-mail me and I can send you one.

One last thing: I was really, really bored in April so I put together a zine of short stories. This will be ready soon and just as free as the mag. But it’ll only be available in HK, in select places. Again, if you want one, let me know, but be quick as there aren’t many.

Oli

Leave a Reply

